Saturday, March 19, 2011

Little Women

Louisa May Alcott (Author)

Search for title: HCL  RCL  SPPL  MnLINK
Gutenberg Project

Little Women or, Margaret, Jo, Elizabeth and Amy (commonly known as Little Women) is a novel by American authorLouisa May Alcott (1832–1888). The book was written and set in the Alcott family home, Orchard House, in Concord, Massachusetts. It was published in two volumes in 1868 and 1869. The novel follows the lives of four sisters – Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March – and is loosely based on the author's childhood experiences with her three sisters. The first volumeLittle Women was an immediate commercial and critical success, prompting the composition of the book's second volume titled Good Wives, which was successful as well. The publication of the book as a single volume first occurred in 1880 and was titled Little Woman. Alcott followed Little Women with two sequels, also featuring the March sisters, Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886). (
Well, considering that my favorite SF writer (Lois McMaster Bujold) writes a series (the Vorkosigan saga) that often gets cross linked as romance..... is it so surprising that I really enjoyed this book?  I mean it has historical elements, an undercurrent of Pilgrim's Progress, and a nice, touching story.  Hm, and two sequels, eh?